Monday Meetings: Meet Linda!

As the school year begins, new weekly series are also being developed.  This is the first post in a new series of “Monday Meetings,” and each week a Faculty Member, Supervisor or Staff Member will be featured in a blog post.


Supervisor Bios - Linda Gambell

 Linda Gambell

Music Therapy Training

I graduated in 2008 from the Master of Music Therapy program at WLU. Post-graduation, I completed my internship on a part time basis and received MTA status in 2012. I have been supervising graduate and undergraduate students since 2010 and completed the level one supervisor’s course developed by Amy Clements-Cortes based on the CAMT competencies. I continue to learn and build music therapy skills by attending conferences and workshops. Most recently I attended the Neuroscience Speech and Language Training for Music Therapists at U of T.

Model of Practice & Clinical Interests

Creative Music Therapy as developed by Nordoff and Robbins is at the forefront for my model of practice. I also find Amelia Oldfield’s approach (Interactive Music Therapy) to be very helpful and practical.

As a voice instructor I gravitate towards methods involving voice production: singing familiar songs, vocal improvisation, speech reinforcement, vocal expression. I adopt a playful approach when appropriate.

The most interesting clinical work I’ve done in the past year was at Grand River Institute for Women. I facilitated small group sessions with female inmates focusing on instrumental and vocal improvisation and song writing.

Main Client Populations

I work with children and adults and have experience with the following clinical populations:

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder
  • Down Syndrome
  • Developmental Delays
  • Medically Fragile
  • Dementia
  • Deaf-blind

Fun Fact

Many years ago I acted in a film scene with Ed O’Neill, long before he took on his current role of “Jay Pritchett” in Modern Family (one of my favourite sit-coms!).

About Laurier MTSA

We are a student association at Wilfrid Laurier University and most of our members are students in the Music Therapy program. We exist to educate about, promote, and support the work of music therapy, and to support the academic, career, and personal needs of the Music Therapy Students. Our mandate is to unite prospective, current and alumni students while promoting our profession in the larger community.
This entry was posted in Laurier Faculty, Monday Meetings, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments or Questions? Please let us know!

