Monday Meetings: Meet Liz!

Supervisor Bios - Liz Mitchell

Liz Mitchell

Music Therapy Training

I graduated from the MMT program at Laurier in 2007, and became an MTA in 2009.  My internship was completed at St. Joseph’s Lifecare Centre in Brantford, Ontario (long-term and palliative care), and at Lutherwood Mental Health Services in Waterloo, Ontario (adolescent mental health). I worked as the music therapist at Lutherwood from 2007-2012.

Model of Practice & Clinical Interests

My practice is music-centered and client-centered, largely influenced by Community Music Therapy, Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy, and humanistic and narrative approaches to counselling and therapy. Recently, I’ve been working to more intentionally integrate an understanding of social justice concerns into my work, balancing my focus on the individual with an awareness of oppressive societal structures. I’m also passionate about the intersection between music therapy and music education, specifically, in students’ experiences within music education that are “therapeutic” in nature. I’m active as a music educator as well; I conduct a children’s choir through the “El Sistema Aeolian” program in London, Ontario, and enjoy teaching piano and voice.

Main Client Populations

  • Child & adolescent mental health
  • Special education
  • Older adults & long-term care

Fun Fact

I’ve recently been learning to roller skate in my spare time, with hopes of one day becoming a fully-fledged derby girl. If anyone can think of a music therapy related derby name, I’m all ears. 🙂

About Laurier MTSA

We are a student association at Wilfrid Laurier University and most of our members are students in the Music Therapy program. We exist to educate about, promote, and support the work of music therapy, and to support the academic, career, and personal needs of the Music Therapy Students. Our mandate is to unite prospective, current and alumni students while promoting our profession in the larger community.
This entry was posted in Laurier Faculty, Monday Meetings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments or Questions? Please let us know!

