Monday Meetings: Meet Sara!

Faculty Bios - Sara Klinck

 Sara Klinck

Music Therapy Training

I completed my Bachelor of Music Therapy at Wilfrid Laurier University in 2005 and my Master of Music Therapy, also from WLU, in 2013.  I received Accreditation with the Canadian Association for Music Therapy in 2007.

Models of Practice & Areas of Interest

As a music therapist, my approach is multi-faceted.  I consider myself to be therapeutic-relationship-centered, client-centered, and music-centered.  I have experienced profound connections between all three in my clinical work and have drawn from various models and approaches in order to companion clients in their process with music therapy.

My training and education in music-centered models have left their imprint on my use of clinical improvisation in my work.  The influences of music-centered psychotherapy approaches (particularly insight-oriented music psychotherapy) are apparent in my use of both musical and verbal processing with clients in end-of-life and bereavement care.

A significant portion of my clinical experience and interest as a music therapist has been in palliative care.  Over time the professional decision to work in hospice became instrumental in cultivating an approach to music therapy in bereavement care.

Main Research Interests

My area of interest in research is linked to bereavement care, focused on how music therapy can be (and is) accessed by those who are grieving in ways that may aid in the expression of loss, and also in the process of coping and adaptation following profound loss.

Fun Facts

To keep myself grounded, I spend time at the piano and in the garden, and I laugh.

To keep myself nourished, I spend time with the people I love, connect with my community, and I sing.

To keep myself creative, I sew and make things with my hands, and go to experience the arts!

Courses

MU453

About Laurier MTSA

We are a student association at Wilfrid Laurier University and most of our members are students in the Music Therapy program. We exist to educate about, promote, and support the work of music therapy, and to support the academic, career, and personal needs of the Music Therapy Students. Our mandate is to unite prospective, current and alumni students while promoting our profession in the larger community.
This entry was posted in Laurier Faculty, Monday Meetings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments or Questions? Please let us know!

